Knocking on Doors, waiting for the right one

So, the last couple months have been interesting.  I’ve been busy or at least telling myself I’m busy. Maybe I’ve been making excuses for why nothing has happened.  I think I’ve just been waiting for something to fall out of the sky.  I don’t know.  I’ve been wanting God to show me exactly where He wants me to go, without doing my part.  It doesn’t quite work that way. 

Even though I’ve been walking through a time of confusion and, well, laziness, I’ve always known that I have a calling.  I know I’m going to Africa.  There is no question about that.  It’s just how, when, where, with what group, what will I be doing, things like that.  Last Friday I had dinner with my family and my cousin kept mentioning different things I would have to deal with in Africa.  Things that I don’t usually like – bugs, dirt, heat, lack of normal toilets, things like that.  And it’s true, I like having a normal toilet.  I like not having to deal with bugs.  I don’t like having dirt on me.  I don’t like heat.  But here’s the thing, despite everything she was saying, I wasn’t scared.  It doesn’t bother me, because my God is bigger then all of that.  He will be enough for me and He has called me to go there.  That is how I know it’s from Him, because He has called me so far out of my comfort zone.  It is truly exciting, scary (in a good way), amazing, and so many other feelings I can’t even name. 

Anyway, a couple weeks ago a good friend decided she’d make me start working on finding the right group again.  I was very discouraged after the first group.  I’m so grateful to her.  It’s funny how even when I’ve been just coasting God was still amazingly faithful.  He continued to bring someone into my life just about every week with a connection to Africa or someone who knew of a ministry in Africa.  He’s so amazing.  Even on my cruise, the art dealer was from South Africa and I met a person on the cruise who has done missions in Africa.  How amazing is that?

The same day I was going over to my friend’s house to research some new organizations, two friends from church both said they have organizations I should look into.  That afternoon, I researched one of them and it sounds amazing.  I don’t know if it is the right organization for me, but it got me excited all over again.  I also found on their website a book I could order about their story of starting an orphanage in Mozambique.  I am currently reading that book.  The battles they fought and the things they are doing are amazing.  As I read it, I wonder if I could handle what they went through and things they confronted and I prayed at that moment God would change my heart so I could handle it.  So I could hug the little girl who has never been hugged even though she is extremely dirty and has lice and scabies.  That I will still hug her even though I probably will walk away with lice and scabies myself.  Because what she really needs more then a shower is love.  Pure love, love from Jesus Christ.

So, friends, please pray for God to give me the strength and the love for His people to do what He’s called me to do.  And to do that, I’m going to continue looking at different organizations until the right one comes along.  As another friend said, I’m going to keep knocking on doors until God opens the right one for me.

As you join me in this process, I’m going to post different things about the ministries I am researching and how we can all pray for those ministries.  Who knows, maybe God is calling you to work with one of them.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Knocking on Doors, waiting for the right one

  1. Demarie

    Proud of you, Kristen!!! I’m so excited to see what God is going to do through you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

