My First Day

I’m here! Woohoo! I arrived Tuesday afternoon after a two short flights and a very long one. It was a long, exhausting trip, but fortunately I made it safely. Thank you so much for all your prayers!

A few people from Beautiful Gate met me at the airport, Bryan (the operations director), Paige (my new roommate), and Emily (another roommate for this week). We made the short drive to Beautiful Gate from the airport. Side note: the airport is one of the smallest airports I have ever been in. We were the only flight when I was there.

I was shown to my room and we dropped off my stuff then I got to meet Bryan’s wife, Anita, and their kids. We all had lunch together. A bit later, I got to experience an adoption ceremony. I feel so blessed to have been able to be a part of it. In Lesotho, once a child is placed and the paperwork has gone through, the parents come and meet the child and pick them up to spend time with them in Lesotho for 2 weeks. After that they are able to take the child home with them. Here at Beautiful Gate, at some point near the end of the 2 weeks, we hold an adoption ceremony to celebrate the adoption and formally hand off the child from the housemother to the child’s forever family. It was a beautiful ceremony with songs in Sesotho and English. When the housemother handed the child over, both her and the child’s new mother were crying. Hard to keep a dry eye during that time. It really hit home what we are here to do at Beautiful Gate and the amazing things that God does through this ministry.

Pictures will be up soon. The Internet connection is only good on certain parts of campus.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My First Day

  1. Lauren Hart

    So glad you made it safely!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

