My welcome to Africa morning

This morning was quite a morning.  It started with waking up at 5 am to watch the election returns on my computer.  Shortly after logging in, the electricity went out.  So, no internet, no power, and no election results for me.  I went back to sleep until 7.  Our electricity is still out, but there is a generator powering most of campus.

So, I headed into work as normal.  I found out the results of the election.  While my candidate didn’t win, I hope we can all work together for the good of the country.  And I hope all will pray President Obama over the next 4 years.  I pray the Lord will guide his decisions during his presidency.

Well, after that disappointment, I was talking to my boss and was a bit cold.  So, I put on my sweater, only to feel shooting pain on my arm.  After taking the offensive sweater off, we tried to figure out what happened.  Maybe a piece of glass or a spider?  As a red spot became noticeable almost like a bug bite it became obvious it wasn’t glass, but a spider or something else.  We continued looking in my sweater to see what it was.  It wasn’t in there.  Then, I looked under my bookbag and found a scorpion.

After killing it, we put it in a jar and headed to the hospital.  There’s a private hospital very close to Beautiful Gate campus.  The doctor looked at it, asked me a few questions, and said I’d be fine.  Scorpions here aren’t poisonous.  But I will tell you, it hurts when they sting you.  The nurse also took my blood pressure and fever and found nothing out of the ordinary, so they sent me home and told me to take a pain killer.  All is good.

So, it was quite the morning here in Lesotho.

This is the offensive sweater.

And this is the lovely scorpion which was in the sweater.

It’s about an inch and a half long if you can’t read the ruler next to it.

It stung me once on my forearm and once on my wrist.  I would post the pictures, but for some reason it’s not working right now.  I’ll add them later if I can.  In all, I’m fine.  The redness is just about gone.  The pain is almost gone a couple hours later.  And we just got electricity back.  So, let’s hope for a good rest of the day!  🙂

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My welcome to Africa morning

  1. Yikes! Not fun! Glad you are ok, though. Hope your electricity comes back soon!

  2. Cathy Graham

    Kristen, Thanks for the interesting and uplifting updates on your blog! I am so glad to read that you’re feeling the blessings. Love from LI, Cathy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

