One month

I have officially been in Africa for one month.  My plane landed in Lesotho one month ago today.  The last month has been quite the experience.  I’ve learned so much and I’m already beginning to adapt to being here in Africa.

Some of the things I’ve learned…

  • the initial greetings in Sesotho (not as easy as you’d think)
  • names of the staff in the office, still working on some of the staff in the baby houses
  • scorpions around here aren’t poisonous, but do hurt when they sting
  • I can deal with flies and other bugs in my house to a certain point, quite the change from home.
  • if it’s cloudy, wear long sleeves, if it’s sunny wear short sleeves
  • how to use a mac (using one for work, still learning stuff and shortcuts)
  • starting to learn how to cook from scratch/substitute items in your normal recipes
  • the easy way to convert from rand to dollars (divide by 8)
  • the way to purify your water so you can drink it
  • where the hospital is (thanks to the scorpion, now we know it’s not poisonous and the pain will go away)

And so many more things that I can’t even remember right now.

I’ve had so many great experiences during the last months, and a few not so great.  It’s amazing what you learn and experience in just one month by moving to another country.

Some of the amazing experiences I’ve had this past month…

  • held a baby lion
  • pet a cheetah
  • saw a white lion
  • held numerous adorable children
  • experienced a child run up to me with arms open wide and a big smile on his face looking to be picked up and hugged.  🙂
  • played with little kids, they love to be tickled
  • met amazing people who come here on short-term trips
  • saw amazing sunsets painted by God
  • wonderful times of worship with Basotho, Americans, Australians, South Africans, and so many other cultures in one place.  It was like a glimpse into what Heaven will be like when all cultures, tribes, people come together and worship God.

God has blessed me so much this past month with so many new experiences and time with Him.  It hasn’t always been easy, I am far from home and everything I know, but the Lord has given me the strength to get through.  I am excited to see what the rest of my time here brings.

“After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, ‘Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the lamb!'”  ~ Revelation 7:9-10 ESV

“Be strong and courageous.  Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you.  He will not leave you or forsake you.”  ~ Deuteronomy 31:6 ESV

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

