Firsts

This past week was a week of firsts for me.  It was quite the week.  It was my first holiday away from my family.  Here they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving so I worked on Thursday and got a half day on Friday since Friday night is when we did our thanksgiving dinner with other American missionaries.  It was the first time I’ve made an apple pie.  In case you didn’t know, apple pie is my favorite dessert, followed closely by red velvet cake.  Apple pie is a staple at Thanksgiving and Christmas in my family.  My grandmother used to make the most amazing apple pie.  Unfortunately my sister and I didn’t get the recipe before she passed away almost 10 years ago.  My sister has played with recipes and is extremely close, she may even have it.  Her apple pie is quite yummy.  My Mom also makes a great apple pie.  My sister usually makes the one for Thanksgiving and my Mom the one for Christmas.  (or two sometimes)  But I’ve never been the one to make it.  And to top it all off, you have to make your pie crust from scratch here in Lesotho.  So, I made an apple pie from scratch.  It turned out okay.  I definitely have some changes I want to make in the future.  I wasn’t a fan of the crust, so a different crust recipe will be tried in the future.  I also had too many apples for the pan I was using and ended up making two pies, one with normal crust and one with a different topping – sugar, butter, stuff like that.  Since I had enough apples for the two pies, the one with the normal crust didn’t have enough sugar in it.  I didn’t double that part of the recipe, thinking I was only over by a couple apples.  I was way off on that.  The second pie turned out really good, because of the different topping.  Anyway, it was a good first try, but I will be making changes for next time, which will be for Christmas.  Like I said it’s a staple at home.

Thanksgiving was good.  The food was yummy.  We had turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, corn pudding, green beans (not casserole, because no onion things to put on top), sweet potatoes (they are white here, it’s kinda weird looking, but they aren’t as sweet so I like them a bit better, I don’t like sweet potatoes at home), rolls, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, and apple pie.  Enjoyable company.  Mostly all Americans, one Canadian.  Dinner was followed by games.  Fun times.

On Saturday I drove for the first time since coming here.  They drive on the left here in Lesotho, like in the UK.  That was a bit different, but since you sit on the right side of the car it made it pretty easy.  I was driving an automatic, so it was nice not to have to think about it.  At some point I will try a manual, since I’m probably going to have to drive one of the other cars at some point. Most of the cars here in Lesotho are manual, but here at Beautiful Gate we do have one automatic.  I drove to Ladybrand in South Africa.  I was trying to make it to the post office since my sister sent me a package, but it was closed when I got there.  I’d slept in that morning, but we thought the post office was open until 2.  We got there at 1:30, so either we were wrong or the post office closed early.  Either are possibilities.  So, Paige and I went to Spar, a grocery store where you can get things you can’t get in Lesotho.  Then we heading up to Living Life for lunch.  One the way back we went to the movies at the mall in Maseru.  First movie since coming here.  We saw Premium Rush, not bad.

Sunday I went to church, not a first.  But I did meet some missionaries that just arrived.  They are hear with Mission Aviation Fellowship.  Please pray for their family, they have four boys.  Pray for the adjustment to moving here and getting settled.

Later that day I met some new people when we went over to their house for lunch.  They have a beautiful house and a pool.  So, we got to go swimming.  Not my first time swimming since coming here, but the first time the water wasn’t too cold to stay in.  🙂

It was a great week of firsts.  As I’ve had so many firsts since coming here.  The Lord is doing amazing things here.  He’s doing amazing things in my life.

As December approaches, please pray for me.  Some of you know why and some don’t.  But please pray for strength to get through.  Thank you all for your prayers.  I feel them and am so grateful.  May God bless you!  I hope all of you had a fantastic Thanksgiving!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

