Hunger

Do we really know what hunger is?  I mean we’ve all been hungry, but have we ever not know when or where our next meal will come from?  Have we ever cried because we are so hungry?  I know I haven’t.  Sure, I’ve done a multi-day fast and felt the pangs of being hungry, but I’ve never been malnourished.  I’ve never been so hungry my life is threatened from malnutrition.  I’ve always known that another meal was coming.

Yesterday, I visited another orphanage in Maseru.  The orphanage is the exact opposite of Beautiful Gate and made me so thankful I’m at Beautiful Gate.  There I met a child who was so hungry he was crying.  He was malnourished.  I think he had lunch, but you could tell he doesn’t get regular meals.  I met another child who was extremely sick and also HIV positive.  He should be going to the doctors today.  He was very skinny, his legs and arms looked so small for his size.

These kinds of things are not things you normally see in the states.  If a kid is complaining because he’s hungry, it’s because it’s time for lunch or dinner or they want a snack.  It’s not a life-threatening hunger.

Here at Beautiful Gate we’ve had children arrive who are malnourished.  We have a feeding program to help them gain weight.  One child was so malnourished, he looked like he was 2 when he was almost 6.  To read more about his story, click here.  He arrived here in February and is doing so much better now.  He has gained weight and is walking.  He will need growth hormones to catch up with his age, but for now, he is doing much better.

Today I am thankful I am at Beautiful Gate.  I am thankful that the first child I mentioned should be transferred to Beautiful Gate soon and the second child will be transferred to another orphanage as well.  Please pray these transfers happen soon.  Please pray for healing for these children.  Please pray for the director of this other orphanage to have a change of heart and to help the children under her care.  Please pray for all children around the world who feel the pain of hunger, who’s stomach is bloated because they are malnourished, pray they will be fed.

“They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat.  For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters:  and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.”  ~ Revelation 7:16-17

So thankful that one day no one will feel hungry or thirsty, there will be no more tears or pain.  Thank you Lord for your awesome promises.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

