Loss

One of the children here’s father just passed away.  The father was looking for work while the child finished out the school year.  The child was to return to his father this month.  His father grew ill the past couple weeks and passed away last week.  The child is 7.  We currently don’t know what his family is going to do, if they will care for him or put him up for adoption.  Please pray for this child.

This hits home for me, as I lost my father 9 years ago today.  Losing a father is hard to describe.  I was 21 when my Dad passed, I have no idea how it feels at 7.  I was fortunate to know him 21 years.  I have good memories of my father, but sometimes those fade.  I keep trying to make sure they don’t fade.  How is it at 7?  You have so many less memories.  Does he remember his father?  I don’t know how long he’s been here, but I sincerely hope he remembers his father and loves him.  I hope he knows his father was trying to get a job so he could get his son back.

His funeral will be in a couple weeks.  It takes that much time to get the family here and to take care of everything.  You can pass the cemetery and see multiple funeral tents up each day.  So much loss due to AIDS and other illnesses.  We here at Beautiful Gate are going to do our best to make sure this child makes it to his father’s funeral.  I know I needed to be at my father’s.  I didn’t get to say goodbye in person, as this child also did not, but the funeral is a way to help that.  It provides a sense of closure.

One thing I know is one day we won’t feel this loss or hurt from losing those we love, because there will be no more death and no more tears.  There will be no more disease or hunger.  

“There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.  There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we will see Jesus face to face.  But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always.”  ~Lyrics from There Will Be A Day by Jeremy Camp

The joyous thing I know, one thing I can be sure of, is through Christ you can be saved and have eternal life.  My father knew Christ, he was a Christian.  I know I will see him again and won’t have to say goodbye.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave is his only son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”  ~ John 3:16 (ESV)

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.'” ~ John 14:6

“because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” ~ Romans 10:6

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Loss

  1. Mitch

    He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away! – Rev 21:4

    Mitch

  2. Thank you for sharing your story and that of the child’s. I will be praying for all of you and especially this little one during this tough time.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

