Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all!  Sorry for the delay in posts, it’s been busy around Beautiful Gate.  While the office staff was off the week of Christmas and New Years Eve and Day, we were still busy.  There is a team here.  They leave today after being here for 3 weeks.  It’s been busy with them around, but fun to get to know new people.

So, Christmas was fun here.  It was hard to be away from my family, but really neat to see the children so excited about their Christmas gifts.  On Sunday evening before Christmas, a few members of the team, Anita, and I gathered in the board room and put together the Christmas gift boxes for each child at Beautiful Gate.  A church from Michigan had sent little wooden cars decorated by the youth of their church for all the kids at Beautiful Gate, so each child received one of those.  The current team also brought sippy cups for each child and bowls for the older children.  They each received a new Christmas outfit and a stuffed animal along with a few other things.

On Christmas Eve, a few of us passed out Christmas gifts to the houses.  Each child received a shoebox of gift bag with their gifts in it.  Unfortunately, they open their gifts right when they wake up and that is extremely early in the morning, so I didn’t get to see them open their gifts, but I did get to see them showing us their gifts through the windows on Christmas day.  They were so excited!

On Christmas Eve, I also got to Skype with my Mom and open my Christmas presents.  She had sent them with the current team so I could have them on Christmas day.  All I can say is I am spoiled and my Mom knows me well.  Yay for Reese’s and Peanut Butter M&Ms!  Skype is such a wonderful thing, I love being able to see the person I am talking to.  On Christmas day, I was able to Skype with some friends and see my Godson open his Christmas gift from me.  He is growing so much!  He is now walking and talking a bit, something he wasn’t doing when I left.  He is going to be so different when I return from Africa.

I went to church on Christmas day and then relaxed a bit.  In the evening, we had a braai (cookout) and ate lots.  It was a rainy day which kept the temperature pleasant instead of hot.  Our campus was pretty flooded that day.

I hope all of you had a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends!  Also, I with you a happy and blessed new year full of joy and Christ’s love!

“And the angel said to them, ‘Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.  For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.  And this will be a sign for you:  you will find a baby wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger.’  An suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying, ‘Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among those with whom he is please!'”  ~ Luke 2:10-14

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

