One year ago today

One year ago today is when it all started.  One year ago today my life was forever changed.  One year ago today I said yes to an amazing calling and stepped into the future God had planned for me.

One year ago today I was driving to church and God put it on my heart to move to Africa for two years.  I was listening to the radio and a lady came on and talked about how she had gone through a hard time, but she joined an online group and was able to talk out the hard time she’d had and now she was moving to Mexico City to serve the Lord there for two years.  That was when I thought, I could do that.  It would be to Africa, but I could do that.  

So, I made it to church and we were singing a song.  I don’t remember the song, but it may have been the following.  This song, “Came to my rescue” by Hillsong tells my story from last year.  

Falling on my knees in worship
Giving all I am to seek your face
Lord all I am is yours

My whole life
I place in your hands
God of Mercy
Humbled I bow down
In your presence at your throne

I called you answered
And you came to my rescue and I
I wanna be where you are

In my life be lifted high
In our world be lifted high
In our love be lifted high

It was while singing this song (I think) that I said to God, if you want me to go, I’ll go.  I continued to pray about it and think about it for a bit, but it was at that moment when I decided I’d go if it was what God truly wanted.  That decision to follow God’s will changed my life.

9 months later I boarded a plane for Lesotho and here I am.  I’ve been here three months tomorrow and I’ve learned so much in my short time here.  God is teaching me so many things.  Not all of it has been easy, but I know this is God’s will for my life.  Thank you Lord for calling me and make me part of Your plan.

One year ago today I sat in church and made a decision that changed my life.  The Pastor preached on the following verses

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience–among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.  But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ–by grace you have been save–and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.  For by grace you have been saved through faith.  And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.  For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”  ~ Ephesians 2:1-10 (ESV)

One year ago today I said yes to God’s calling.  What is He calling you to?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

