Update on the last couple weeks!

To be honest, I haven’t really felt like blogging lately.  A lot has happened, but every evening I’ve been so tired that I fall asleep easily at 10 or 10:30 before I even get ready for bed.  But since so much has happened, I will at least give an overview of the last couple weeks.  It has been a couple weeks full of joy and sadness, giggles and tears.

About a week and a half ago, I got a roommate!  Jenny, from England, is here for 3 weeks.  She has been a great addition to the team.  This is her 5th (I think) time here and everyone remembers Jenny.  It’s been fun rooming with her.  I’m going to be sad to see her go, but let’s not talk about that.  Jenny is working in the houses and with playgroup.  She always comes home with a funny story such as last week when she was telling me how she’d been poo’d on multiple times.

And I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but another housemate arrived right after we got back from our vacation.  Terp is the North American Ambassador for Beautiful Gate.  This is her 5th time to BG.  She will be here for a little over 5 months and then go back to the states to spread awareness about Beautiful Gate for the next 6 months.  She is rooming with Paige.  Terp plays the guitar, so it’s been nice to hear an acoustic guitar every once in a while, brings back memories of my Dad playing.  She also is very talented in making videos, so new videos for Beautiful Gate will be made during her time here.  She is a great public speaker and  you can tell how much she loves BG, so she will be great in her role as North American Ambassador!

Last Friday, two ladies from Holland arrived.  They will be volunteering with Beautiful Gate for 2 months.  They are living in the team housing for now, but will be moving in with Terp and I sometime in March as we have a team coming.  They are working with the children, giving the housemothers some much needed help.

Valentine’s Day was Faith’s birthday, so we went to Tempelhof to celebrate.  We had quite the trip including the car breaking down 3 times, adventures with 3 dead pigs, holding lions, feeding monkeys, and so much more.  I will blog about that day later with lots of pictures.  It was quite the day, so much fun!  And fortunately the car problem was an easy fix, once the car went to the mechanic.

With so many people living on campus (11 volunteers!) these days, we’ve been having large meals with everyone coming a few nights.  Sometimes my housemates and I eat together.  Sometimes all 11 of us.  Last week I made manicotti, it turned out really good.  This was last Wednesday, yummy food for my housemates and the Geurinks.  Last Friday, my housemates and I combined to make a welcome meal for the Dutch ladies.  I made chocolate chip cookies.  Terp made the main course, a pasta dish that was delish.  Jenny made my housemates and I a roast the Sunday after she arrived.  And she cooked another amazing meal for us (this time all 11 of us) last Sunday.  Paige cooked for the housemates last night, yummy!  Anita had Jenny and I over last Monday.  Jenny made Jenny cakes (crepes for Americans) for dinner on Tuesday since it was pancake Tuesday.  By the way crepes are British pancakes, so it worked.  It’s been fun living in community and not always having to figure out a meal for myself.  Of course, as most of you know, if it was just for me, I’d probably eat cereal or something easy like that.  It’s been nice having homecooked meals.

As an update about the children.  All of them are out of the hospital now.  We got a new child yesterday.  He was abandoned by the dam and was in the hospital for about a week.  The funerals for the three we lost will probably happen this week.  The delay has been because two of the children had families and we had to find out if they wanted to be involved in the funeral/have their own.  The three funerals will probably be combined into one later this week, but no final word on that yet.

Please continue to pray for the health of the children here.  A few are still fighting some sickness.  Some are still recovering as well.  Please pray for the staff and volunteers as we deal with the loss of the three children.

“The Lord will guide you continually and provide for you, even in parched places.  He will rescue your bones.  You will be like a watered garden, like a spring of water that won’t run dry.”  ~ Isaiah 58:11

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Update on the last couple weeks!

  1. catschwartz

    I am glad that all of the children are out of the hospital. I hope that is all that will need to be there for a good long while!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

