King Moshoeshoe Day

Today is King Moshoeshoe day here in Lesotho, a national holiday.  King Moshoeshoe was the one that united the Basotho people in the 1800s and work with the British to keep their land.  King Moshoeshoe day is the anniversary of the day of his death.

Since today is a national holiday, I didn’t have work.  So, I went and played in playgroup.  My roommate told me how last night a couple of the new children were crying.  She asked the housemother why the children were upset and the housemother replied that the children wanted to go home.  So, when I went to playgroup and one of the new children ran up to me and gave me a hug, I gave her a big hug right back.  She’s the oldest of the children that came in, 6 years old.  

Now, I heard that she was having a bit of a hard time when it came to meal time.  I think she was nervous someone would steal her food.  But at playgroup she seems really happy.  I’m not the only volunteer who she ran up to and gave a hug and a kiss.  She’s such a sweet little girl.  We went and played on one a jungle gym that has a steering wheel.  She turned the wheel and I would go beep beep.  She soon was doing the same thing.

Later I was sitting with a couple kids in my lap and one of them was upset.  She walked over and wiped the child’s tears and patted him on his tummy, I think trying to comfort him.  She seems to have a lot of mothering in her.

These kids are all very sweet.  One if you give him a funny look, he will give you a big smile back.  I know some of the smaller kids are having a hard time understanding.  I know if I was their age I would also have a hard time.  I pray these children will adjust soon.  I know the housemothers are loving on them as much as possible.  I also know we have 18 kids in each house.

Another child arrived last night, bringing the total number of children here to 72.  Please pray for the care staff as they care for that many children.  Please pray for the health of the care staff and children.  Help them to realize they are doing exactly what God has called them to do and pray they will find encouragement in that.  Please pray for the children as they are adjusting to a new place.  Please pray for the volunteers that we will know how we can encourage and help the care staff.

“Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this:  to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”  ~ James 1:27 (ESV)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

