Naleli

Naleli (pronounced Nalady) is the Sesotho word for stars.

Almost a year ago I remember laying on a bench on a cruise ship and looking up at the stars.  They were beautiful.  I was thinking about how in a year I’d be looking up at different stars, constellations I’d never seen before.  Well, tonight when I got back from Bible Study, I looked up and saw hundreds of stars.  There is not a lot of ambient light around here, so you can see so many more stars than you can back home.  It is beautiful.  Sometimes I look up and think God painted those stars many years ago so I could look up and see them now.  So amazing.  Tonight I could see the Southern Cross and Orion’s Belt and so many stars in between that I have no idea the name of.  Amazingly beautiful.  I’m so thankful for the blessing of being able to see the Lord’s wonderful creation.

This past week has been filled with ups and downs.  Last Monday, I skyped with a friend and got to see my Godson.  He’s grown up so much since I saw him last.  He’s walking and talking.  I’ve already missed so much.  He blew me kisses over the camera.  It was great to catch up and to see him.  I remember when I said goodbye to him before leaving, I was afraid he wouldn’t remember me and I knew he’d grow up so much.  But I’ve been learning that I have to give these things to God.  He was the one that called me here and He will be the one to get me through seeing loved ones and the things I’m missing at home.

I found out that my cat passed away.  It was a freak thing, don’t really know what happened.  I am grateful for the friend who took her in when I couldn’t find her a home.  I am grateful that she was loved during the last couple months of her life.  I miss her dearly, but I put her in God’s hands in July when I realized I was leaving and I didn’t know where she would be going.  I am sad she’s gone, she was a great cat.

Last week we had a couple reunifications.  One of the children is one that would come sit on my lap in play group.  He would come up to me when I came to get a hug.  He was a sweet kid.  He would sing this one song “good morning, good morning, good morning, how are you” or something like that.  Such an awesome little boy.  He and his sister returned home and I hope they are doing well rebounding with their family.

This past weekend I spent reading.  Saturday, I got laundry done, read, worked out, baked cookies, watched a movie, and took a nap.  It was so nice.  Sunday, I went to church, read, swam, and had pizza.  Both days were great.  It’s been so nice just to spend some time reading the word or another book.  Sometimes I’ll sit outside at the picnic table and read, enjoying the beautiful weather we’ve had lately.  It’s so peaceful.

One thing I really love about being here in Lesotho is the sunsets.  Almost everyday, we have a beautiful sunset.  It’s amazing to be able to sit outside and watch God paint the sky in pinks, oranges, reds, depending on what He desires that day.

Thank You Lord for painting the sky with stars or sunsets or clouds or blue skies.  Thank You Lord for the peace You have provided despite hearing hard news.  Thank You Lord for being in charge of my life and guiding me according to Your will.

I “…ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that you will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; strengthened with all power, according to His glorious might, for the attaining of all steadfastness and patience; joyously giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in Light.”  ~ Colossians 1:9b-12
 

And Beautiful Gate recently released a video about the 12 new children.  We are over the comfortable capacity and this video addresses some of the changes and needs associated with that.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Naleli

  1. catschwartz

    Glad you are able to enjoy the stars , sunsets, and the kids 🙂 I know it can be hard with kids some days, but the joys are so abundant when you connect with them! Keeping you and the staff in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

