Happy Easter!

He is risen!

I know it’s been a while since I last updated, there’s been a lot going on, some good, some not so good.  About a week and a half ago, I got really sick.  Sicker than I’ve felt in a while, but fortunately we have some nurses on site and one of them gave me something which helped break the fever.  It took me a couple days to get back to full strength, but fortunately I am all better now.  I spent a lot of that time in bed, watching movies and sleeping.  So, I definitely wasn’t the most productive, but it was nice to get some rest.  I definitely needed it.

Last Friday, Good Friday, a team arrived here at Beautiful Gate.  They are from Crosspoint CRC in Chino, CA.  It is a 16 person team, 9 members of the youth group and 7 chaperones.  We’ve had a lot of fun with them since they arrived.  They jumped right in and Friday afternoon they were playing with the kids here.  It is really neat to see youths interacting with our kids.  I think the kids are loving having extra people to play with and climb on.

Saturday, we colored Easter eggs for the Easter egg hunt the next day.  A family from MAF came over to help.  It was a lot of fun to see the kids (Geurink children and MAF kids) color the eggs.  First we drew things on them with crayons so the eggs would have a design.  Then we dyed them.

On Sunday, we held the 3rd Annual Easter Egg Hunt here at Beautiful Gate.  The team helped set up for the hunt by hiding candy and the hard boiled eggs.  Then the kids came down for their afternoon playgroup.  They saw there was something different and wanted to run and get the candy right away, but we wanted all children to be there before the kids went hunting, so we gathered all of the children on the porch and sang “Father Abraham.”  I think the adults did all the actions more than the kids.  I’m pretty sure we all looked funny as we marched around in circles with our tongues out and nodding our heads.

Then we let the kids go.  They ran and found all the candy and eggs and put them in bins so we could divvy them out evenly to all the children.  It was so much fun watching the kids running around and having fun.  Once we gathered everything, Anita, a few members of the team, and I went inside and put things in baggies for the children.  We then passed out a bag for each child.  The kids loved the candy and the eggs.  They even would start eating the eggs before we could peel them.  But with the team here, we made sure to stop them and we had enough hands to peel the eggs.

That night, the 9 volunteers on campus and two other missionaries gathered for a yummy dinner.  I made deviled eggs which turned out really salty unfortunately.  Anita and I combined our efforts to make a lemon meringue pie which turned out really yummy even though it was a bit runny.  We got the taste right at least.

On Easter Monday, which is a holiday here in Lesotho, we took the team to Tempelhof to see the lions and other animals.  Fun times with good company and yummy food.  I got stopped at my first police stop on our way back.  The officer kept saying he wanted the child in the back (Mercy).  I was a bit freaked out, but I later found out that’s a compliment in Lesotho.  When they say they want your child, they are saying the child is beautiful.  Now I know, which will be helpful in the future.

All in all, it’s been a lot of fun having a team in town.  I hope all of you had a blessed Easter!

“Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified.  He is not here, for He is risen, as He said.”  ~ Matthew 28:5b-6a
 

P.S. – If you want to see pictures from the Easter Egg Hunt, check out the post I put on Beautiful Africa yesterday.

P.P.S. – Please pray for a child who was rushed to the hospital yesterday.  Thank you.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Happy Easter!

  1. Jenny

    sounds like fun times have been had. Glad you are feeling better too. Thinking of you and praying for you all x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

