Today

Yesterday I celebrated my 31st birthday and today we held the funerals for two children who didn’t even make it to their 1st birthday.  That’s hard to come to terms with.  It’s hard to understand.  Why would God bring two little children into this world just to take them out so soon?  Yet I know He has a reason.  I know the children are now in the arms of their Savior and will forever know only joy and love.  They will be singing the praises of their Savior for all eternity.  So I should be happy for them right?  It’s so hard.

We have buried 5 children since I arrived at Beautiful Gate.  5.  5 children under the age of 1.  5 children who didn’t get to celebrate a birthday.  5 children we miss.  5 children we loved.  5 children who are now in the arms of their Savior.

5 crosses

The directors here have 3 children aged 5, 8, and 9.  How do they understand?  One of them didn’t join us for the funeral today, because it was too sad.  How do you explain this to an 8 year old?  How about a 5 year old?  How do the housemothers explain this to the child’s brothers and sisters in their house?  How?

Today Bryan spoke of love during the funeral.  He spoke of how the staff here showed Christ’s love to these children during their short time on earth.  We are all called to show love.  To love one another as Christ loves us.  We are called to be the hands and feet of Christ here on earth, here at Beautiful Gate.

Today we celebrated the lives of two beautiful children.  We honored them the best we knew how and we buried them with dignity and love.

We are hurting here, but we look to the cross and we have hope.

Praise be to the Lord,
for he has heard my cry for mercy.
The Lord is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.
My heart leaps for joy,
and with my song I praise him.
 
~Psalm 28: 6-7
Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Today

  1. Deanna Mann

    Sorry for this loss, Kristen. I continue to lift you and the children of Beautiful Gate up in prayer.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

