The Beauty of Worship

Yesterday, I was in church and I was sitting behind a friend who works with an organization here in Lesotho that rescues victims of human trafficking and works to rehabilitate them.  They do amazing work.  Next to her were three of the victims they had rescued.  These three girls have seen the worst of humanity.  They were treated as if they weren’t human, as if they were property.  They were modern day slaves.

During the worship period, I was amazed at the beauty I saw in the row ahead of me.  These three ladies were worshiping their Savior with all they had.  It was amazingly beautiful.  Despite all they’ve been through, they gave it all to Christ and raised their hands in worship.  How often do we do this?

I know personally when I’ve been through rough times, I don’t always give it all to Christ and worship Him, and I’ve never been through anything like what they’ve been through.  How amazing to be able to worship the Creator of the universe!  We should always find joy when doing so.  How often do we let things distract us from worshipping?  I know when I’m sitting in church some Sundays I start thinking about the rest of the day, what I’m going to buy at the store, what laundry needs to be done.  This is not what we are called to do.

Jesus told us not to worry.

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  ~ Matthew 6:25-34
 

Yesterday in church we sang “Jesus at the Center” by Hillsong.  This song hit home, is Jesus always the center of my life?  Do I always give it all to Jesus and worship Him?  This is my prayer, my song.

Jesus be the center of my life
Jesus be the center of my life
From beginning to the end
It will always be, it’s always been You Jesus
Jesus

Nothing else matters, nothing in this world will do
Jesus You’re the center, everything revolves around You
Jesus You
Nothing else matters, nothing in this world will do
Jesus You’re the center, everything revolves around You
Jesus You

From my heart to the Heavens
Jesus be the center
It’s all about You
Yes it’s all about You

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Beauty of Worship

  1. Megan Williams

    Awesome K. So happy to hear God is challenging you and speaking to the depths of your heart.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

