Technology

Today I am so grateful for technology.  Over the past 8 months, it’s through technology that I have been able to keep in contact with my family and friends.  I usually skype with my Mom every week, unless she’s traveling.  On Facebook I keep updated with everything going on with most of my friends and family.  I have the ability to call people in the states for free through magicjack.  I text with my sister using imessaging.  It’s pretty amazing what is available these days.

This past weekend I talked to a bunch of my friends on Skype.  On Saturday night, a couple of my friends were visiting another group of friends and we all skyped for two and a half hours.  The only reason we stopped then is my iPad was dying.  It was so great to see all of them.  The connection was clear and I got to see each of them and talk to them.  I got to see my Godson and wow has he changed since I saw him in person last.  When I left for Lesotho, he wasn’t walking and wasn’t really saying words yet.  Now, he is walking and talking.  It’s amazing.  I don’t think he really remembered me, but it was still good to see him and hear him talking.

On Sunday, I had another Skype date scheduled.  But first I talked to my friend who is leading a team from my church to Beautiful Gate.  I got to tell her a little of what her team would be doing and answer a few questions before their initial interest meeting that night.  I am so excited for them to come.  Then I talked to some friends and their 5 kids.  I got to talk to each one of them in turn and meet the newest one.  I’ve held each of her children as babies (I’m pretty sure…), other than the one they adopted at the age of 2.  So, this newest little one I won’t get to hold as a baby.  But she is so cute and chubby.  🙂  I loved getting to catch up with their family and see all the kids.  One showed me his new shoes.  He was very proud of them.  This was the first time I’ve skyped with them since I’ve been here.  I’ve Facebook chatted with them a bunch of times, but it was so great to see them.  We talked for 3 hours until it as getting late on my end and I figured I should go to bed.

And last night I got to talk with another friend and catch up with her for an hour.  It’s so great to have the technology to keep in touch with people who are thousands of miles away.  All of the things I use are free.  They are all iPad apps.  I am so thankful for the ability to call a friend, to see a family member over Skype, to meet my friends kids and chat with people all over the world.  I can’t imagine what it was like before the internet to leave your family and friends and move to another continent.

Thankful for the ability to stay connected from so far away.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Technology

  1. Deanna Mann

    This is wonderful Kristen; and as I read it, it made me think of your father, grand-father, & uncle. All amateur radio operators. I think you definitely inherited some of the “bug” they had for communicating!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

