And they’re off!

So, the Geurinks are off!  They drove out the gate on Tuesday and are now in London.

SAM_2717

It’s very different without them here on campus.  They’ve been here the whole time I’ve been here and accepted me into their lives as a friend from the first day I met them.  They have been my Lesotho family.  They were there for me during hard times and good.  Praying with me through some scary news from home and celebrating with me when good news came.  I appreciate the blessing their whole family has been to me these past 8 months.

It’s funny how much people can come to mean to you in such a short time.  Anita became a confidant, someone I could talk to when I needed to talk to someone.  She also was someone who was honest with me and her honesty has helped me grow and learn.  Living in community is quite different then even living with roommates at home.  You not only live together, but you work together, going through a lot of the same heartaches and joys.  So, you often get past the fronts people put on and get to the real you, which means they see even the not so good sides of you.

Bryan has been fun to work with and I’ve enjoyed talking football with him, even if he doesn’t cheer for the same team.  I consider him a good friend and will miss him while he’s gone.

I’ve also grown close to their three kids.  Everyday I get my hugs from the three of them and I will definitely miss getting my hugs each day.  They are such a joy to be around.  6 months is a long time for a 9, 8, and 5 year old.  I will miss this so much!

The whole Geurink family has been a huge blessing to me these last 8 months.  I will miss them the next 6 months while they are gone.  I look forward to their return, but am glad they will be getting to go home and visit their family.  I wish them well on their time away and hope they have a relaxing and refreshing time.  May God bless their time and guide them as they make some decisions and travel around the US.

Benno and Wendy have moved into their house and are making it home.  They are a great addition to the team and have some good ideas.  I’m looking forward to working with them the next 6 months and getting to know them.

Please join me in praying for the Geurinks during their furlough.  Please also pray for Benno and Wendy as they step into new roles here at Beautiful Gate.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “And they’re off!

  1. Jenny

    Your loss is my gain! it is great having them here, wish they were here for longer. I am looking forward to seeing you again in Feb albeit for a shorter time than before x

  2. I so enjoy hearing about your time at BeautifulBeau Gate. Know your are in my prayers whenever I think of you. Not just you, but for the work you are doing there too. Peace, sweet lady.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

