I Surrender

Sunday at church we sang “I Surrender”.  It spoke to my heart so strongly, reminding me of when God called me on this journey a year and a half ago.  It’s quite possible this was the song we sang on that day at church when I said to God “If you want me to go, I’m in.”  As we were singing it, I remembered where I was standing in church and some of what I felt that day.

Like a rushing wind
Jesus breathe within
Lord have Your way
Lord have Your way in me

Like a mighty storm
Stir within my soul
Lord have Your way
Lord have Your way in me

I surrender
I surrender
I wanna know You more
I wanna know You more

* “I Surrender” – Hillsong

This is only part of the lyrics, but these are the parts that hit home for me last week, the parts that hit home a year and a half ago.  I continue to pray for the Lord to have His way in me.  I do want to know Him more.  So, I continue to surrender my life to Him and His will for my life.

After the sermon on Sunday, Pastor Wilson asked if anyone wanted to give their lives to Christ that day.  Behind me, one of the Mission Aviation Fellowship families had brought the whole soccer team (local kids) they coach with them to church.  They did that last week.  This week the entire team went forward to give their lives to Christ.  They surrendered.

After the service I spoke with the wife and she said these boys are hurting.  I am so thankful they can find peace in Christ.  Please pray for these boys as they begin to learn about their newfound faith.

Surrendering can be hard.  I often have a hard time surrendering a decision and trusting God with the outcome, yet it something I’m called to do time and time again.  It’s definitely not easy.  I don’t know about you, but I like being in control and letting things be dependent on others can be hard.  But God is teaching me to trust and surrender.

One other cool thing happened last weekend.  We opened a 5th child house here on campus.  This house was scheduled to open on July 1, but it opened a day early.  The first kids went into the house the afternoon of June 30th.  I remember thinking a month ago how are we going to get all of this done?  Yet it all came together.  You just have to trust those around you.

If you’d like to read about the opening of Nala, click here.  Please pray as the kids get settled into their new house.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “I Surrender

  1. Deanna Mann

    Thank you, Kristen, for your beautiful testimony! You are such an encouragement to me for which I thank the Lord for.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

