9 Months

Yesterday I wrote about how I left the US 9 months ago.  Well, since it takes about 24 hours traveling to get here, I arrived in Lesotho 9 months ago today.  I arrived to the unknown.  I didn’t know anyone, had never been to Africa, yet I was moving here for 2 years.  It was a giant leap, but fortunately I have a life preserver, a Savior, Jesus.

When I stepped foot off the plane, I was tired.  Extremely tired.  I was out of it and probably stinky, I’d just been traveling for 24 hours.  I don’t even remember what I was thinking.  I went through customs, filling out the sheet everyone has to fill out when entering the country.  I gathered my luggage, two big suitcases, a carry-on suitcase, and my book bag and then headed through the sliding door to the unknown.

On the other side, Bryan, Paige, and Amelie were waiting for me.  I was greeted with a hug from people I’d never met.  Yes, I did Skype with Bryan and Anita once before coming here, but never met them in person.  We loaded my stuff in the Beast (big green land rover) and headed to Beautiful Gate.  I remember little things as we were driving.  They asked me a few questions, I looked at the country I’d just moved to, but I’m not sure I was with it enough to form thoughts, because I don’t remember much.

When we arrived at Beautiful Gate we hiked my stuff across campus, and I remember thinking the campus was beautiful. We put my stuff in my room and I went to meet Anita and the Geurink children.  I think my first thought was I’ll never remember which girl is which.  Funny how much that has changed, I love those kids dearly and I’m also learning all the BG kids names, all 73 of them (I have at least half of them memorized if not more).  And I have the names of the staff down.  I only mess up a little on the staff.

So many new things happened that day, yet I was in such a daze, I don’t remember much of it.  Fortunately I blogged soon after that.  I do remember my first adoption ceremony was that day.  I got to hear the Bo’Me sing traditional songs and dance.  I also remember Bryan telling me stuff about Beautiful Gate and I fell asleep while he was mid-sentence, oops!

These last nine months have been amazing, hard, beautiful, scary, happy, sad, and so many other emotions all wrapped up.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into on that first day.  I am so grateful for all the Lord has blessed me with and all He has given me the strength to get through during my time here.

9 months is a long time, time enough for a baby to go from conception to birth.  Time enough to change a person’s heart and break it over and over again for what breaks God’s.  Time enough to feel at home in a country that is not your own.

May God continue to break my heart for what breaks His.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

