2 Years

Two years ago today I received a text message telling me my Aunt had gone home, her true home, one not on this earth, but one in Heaven.  She had won her fight with cancer, just not in the way we were hoping.

17 days earlier, I received a call very early in the morning, waking me up, telling me my grandfather was non-responsive.  He was 99 and had gone home.  He was finally at peace.

To say August 2011 was hard would be an understatement.  Yet through it all, God showed up.  He was there in a loving hug from a friend.  He was there in flowers sent from work.  He was there when I couldn’t find the phone number for the funeral home and the funeral home called me at that exact moment.  He was there helping me be happy for my friend’s wedding even while mourning the loss of my grandfather.  He was there.

In some ways it made sense that my Aunt and my grandfather would go home around the same time.  They both started having issues around the same time – April/May 2009.  They both had their ups and downs over the next two years.  And even in the midst of both of their hard times, they always asked how the other was doing, even though they aren’t really related anymore.  You see, my Aunt was my mother’s sister and my grandfather was my Dad’s father.  My parents have been divorced since I was 2.  But my Mom always said you divorce the person not the family.  She and her family always loved my grandparents and welcomed them to any family gathering.

Both of these people have a special place in my heart.  My Aunt always had a dream to come to Africa and to whitewater raft.  She never made it to Africa, but I have.  I don’t know if I will go rafting, but in some ways I’m getting to live part of her dream.

My grandfather is someone I always looked up to.  He loved the Lord with all his heart.  He was an amazing man.  He was married to my grandmother for 70 years.  And they loved each other so much right to the end.  I hope to someday have a marriage like theirs, one that lasts.

I think my grandfather would be proud of what I’m doing.  He lived all over the world during his Navy career.  Now I’m living in some far off country, doing what God has called me to do.  And my grandfather in a lot of ways has made this possible.

I am so thankful to God for the wonderful people He has put in my life.  I am so thankful for my Poppop and Aunt Claudia and the impact they’ve made in my life.  I love them and miss them very much!

 

Prayer Request:  Please pray for the matching meeting on Friday.  Pray all children who are able to be matched, will be matched.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “2 Years

  1. Debbie Abernethy

    Christan you are certainly correct. Your poppop Lasley would be VERY pround of you. He loved you and Kelly with all his heart. He and your dad are looking down from heaven and smiling on you.

  2. Deanna Mann

    Such beautiful & treasured memories. Thank you for sharing. Pop Pop, and your Dad would have been very proud of all that you are doing. I am missing them right along side of you. {Hugs}

  3. I will pray for matching day. Blessings to all.

  4. Debbie Bonner

    Hi Lady! I have been following your journey since you left. I love reading of all the good and sad things that are happening. I really love hearing your strong faith come through on every letter you write. You have it right! God is ALWAYS there!!! No matter what the circumstance. I know , myself, he speaks to me in all situations. If I ask a question, you can believe that he will answer and I am not always ready for the way that might happen. But, always greatful! Keep up the wonderful work you are doing! I look forward to the post when Mom gets there! Love, Debbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

