Calling

I wrote this last Friday, but our internet was out and has been spotty ever since.

So many times since God called me here and I said yes, I’ve heard people say they admire me.  They are proud of me.  They admire what I’m doing.  They are in awe of the sacrifices I’ve made.  But the thing is, it’s not a sacrifice, it’s a blessing to serve the Lord.  And, and this is a big AND, each of you is serving the Lord too.

My calling, at least for now, is to serve the Lord in Lesotho at Beautiful Gate.  A friend of mine is called to be a first grade teacher in Virginia.  Another friend is called to stay home with her 5 kids and homeschool them.  Another is to work at a non-profit in editing.  So many of my friends have jobs, which are secular, yet they are fulfilling God’s calling in their lives and can serve Him there today.  We each have a calling and we each serve the Lord with our calling.

I was reading an email devotional by Os Hillman I get each day and last Thursday, he wrote about how each of us is called and can serve the Lord in our workplace.  And we need to fulfill God’s calling in our lives, whether it is home or abroad, whether it’s teaching or construction, when we work we should work as if we are working for the Lord.

So, I am not doing anything different than any of you who are fulfilling God’s call on your life.  Not everyone is called to be a missionary or a pastor.  Some are called to be a politician.  Some are called to be a teacher.  And those are just as important as the missionary or pastor.  Each person can be a force for Christ in their given profession.

“May the favor of the Lord our God rest upon us; establish the work of our hands for us – yes, establish the work of our hands.”  ~ Psalm 90:17

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

