Happy birthday Dad!

Today my Dad would have been 62.  He only made it to his 52nd birthday.  Did we do something for his birthday?  I don’t remember, you never know when it is your last birthday with someone that it is actually your last birthday with them.  At least I didn’t.

My father died unexpectedly of cancer in December 2003.  We didn’t even know he had it for sure until his autopsy, yet it had spread all over his body.  It was very aggressive.

Have you ever wondered what a person feels like when they die and go to Heaven?  So many songs have been written about this.  Many books as well.  One book, Heaven Is For Real, is about a little boy who goes to Heaven during surgery.  He meets many people in his family and sits on Jesus’s lap.  One thing I found interesting from the book is this boy, Colton I think his name was, met his great-grandfather, one he never met on earth.  He told his parents, but when they showed him pictures of his great-grandfather, he didn’t recognize him, until he saw a picture from when his great-grandfather was young, then he recognized him.  I love to imagine my grandparents in their twenties in Heaven.  My father as a healthy young man, before his body was filled with cancer.  Yet, his body didn’t do much deteriorating until the very end, and even then, I don’t think it was as bad as those who fight cancer for years.

But I honestly don’t know.  I didn’t get to see my father before he died.  The last time I saw him was October 2003, about a month and a half before he died.  We had no idea when he went in the hospital on December 8th that he wouldn’t make it.  I was a senior in college and was finishing my last week of classes that week.  No one told me to come home, nor would they have known to.   Yet he died five days later on the 13th.  God’s timing is perfect, but sometimes so hard to accept.

So, again I go back to how do you feel when you see Jesus face to face in Heaven?  I think of a couple songs.  One is “I can only Imagine” by Mercy Me.

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

So, what does a person feel when they go to Heaven?  A song we sing in church is stuck in my head right now.  I don’t know the name of it or who wrote it, but this is the line I keep thinking of.

What will it be like in your presence, in all of your Glory and Power?
Will I hear “Well done faithful servant, you treasured your hours” 
My Child did you linger, a little while longer,
your good works and deeds are not what I need, I only want you

It’s such a powerful song.  Such a powerful thought.  I can only imagine what I would feel, think, do.  I can only imagine what my Dad felt, thought, or did.

Happy birthday Dad!  I hope you are celebrating your birthday with Jesus today.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday Dad!

  1. Deanna Mann

    It was such a shock to lose your father the way we did. It is also hard to believe it will have been 10 years this December. I like your thought of him celebrating with Jesus today. I find this very comforting. I feel so blessed for the time I had with him. He was such an honorable man with humility and integrity. I still miss him too and think of him often. May we both find comfort in the knowledge of knowing he us in heaven and we will be reunited some day.

  2. Debbie Abernethy

    Awe Kristen he was a very SPECIAL man. Friend, Father and husband. He is missed but probably most from his children.

    He is in heaven smiling down on Beautiful Gate knowing you are making such a difference in so many children’s lives.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

