Abuse

I was driving home from church a couple weeks ago and I read the headline on the side of the road “Sangoma told me to rape granny.”  And my heart started breaking again for this country.

I feel like I need to stop and explain something so you grasp this.  A Sangoma is a traditional doctor here, not a medical doctor that you would see at home.

This 21-year-old man was told that if he raped is grandmother, he would have a job by October 5th.

It breaks my heart, because this is not a rare thing.  In the same article, it mentions a grandfather who raped his 16-year-old granddaughter multiple times.

Another article talks about a woman who was a maid for a family.  She was 17 and she was told that part of her job was to have sex with her boss.  Her boss was married with children.  He threatened her with a gun not to tell anyone.  She didn’t for about 6 months, but praise God she finally told someone and reported him to the police.  She is no longer in that situation.

So many young women have been raped or sexually assaulted in this country, the numbers are astounding.  A lie all over HIV/AIDS affected Africa is if you have sex with a virgin, you will be cured.  This lie only spreads HIV/AIDS further and leads to more sexual assaults.

I ask you to join me in praying for this country.  Pray they will turn away from the lies and turn toward the truth.  Pray also for the many victims of sexual assault, that they will be healed mentally, physically, and emotionally from the assault.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Abuse

  1. Glenshawdon

    So sad. Definitely praying on this one. ❤

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

