Cape Town Take 1

We arrived in Cape Town on Friday afternoon and headed to our hotel, a very nice hotel.  Shelley, a friend who works at another orphanage in Maseru, joined us on the trip.  Each of us had our own room.  Mine was right over the water, literally.  I opened the window and if I stuck my head out and looked down, I could only see water.  It was beautiful.  I am spoiled.

That night we settled into our place and then went out and did some food shopping for the week.  Since we had a kitchen we planned to at least do breakfast there each day.  After returning with our groceries, we had fish and chips at a place within walking distance.  We watched some tv and just hung out.

The next morning we headed out to Victoria and Albert Waterfront.  We checked out a great craft marketplace with crafts from all over South Africa.  We went and booked our tickets to go to Robbin Island and had lunch.  I had thai food!  Love thai food and the stuff you get in Lesotho is way too spicy.

We then headed out to Boulder Beach to see the penguins.  As we were driving we stopped because the view was so beautiful.

CT 1

 

CT2

CT3

Boulder Beach

CT4

We saw tons of penguins.  It was a really windy day so you can see they were buckled down so they wouldn’t get blown over.

CT5

CT6

CT7

CT8

CT9

After the penguins we realized we were halfway to Cape Point, so we headed on down and saw Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope.

CT10Cape of Good Hope

CT11

As we were checking out the gift shops in Cape Point, it started getting later.  My Mom looked up and there was a baboon right in front of her.  Needless to say, she moved very fast.

CT12They were all over.

CT13

We then headed down to Cape of Good Hope.

CT15

CT14

CT16

It was so windy, I could barely get my door open to get out of the car.  Then as we were posing to take a picture, my shirt decided to blow up.  So, there is a picture of my Mom and I holding our shirts down because it was so windy.  It was taken on my Mom’s camera, so I don’t have it yet. I will get it posted sometime soon.

We then headed back to our hotel for the night.  More on the rest of our adventures coming soon!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cape Town Take 1

  1. Deanna Mann

    Thanks for sharing your adventure, Kristen. The pictures are stunning!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

