Happy New Year!

So, I’m a few days late in wishing you a happy new year (yeah, like 14, oops!), but here it is, Happy New Year!

It’s 2014.  Where did that come from?  When did we get out of the 90s?  or the 2000s?  How has it been 14 years since I graduated high school?  How is it that we have people who have graduated college who were born in the 90s?  Anyone else feel that way?  Anyone else feel like time flies?

This past year was a year of first for me.  It was the first year where I spent the entire year outside of the US.  It was my first time in Zambia and Zimbabwe.  First time I’ve spent this much time without seeing my family.  So many firsts – first funeral for multiple people, first Basotho wedding, first winter without heat, first summer without air conditioning, first time swimming in the Indian Ocean, first time riding an elephant…

How do I really sum up the past year?  I’m not sure I can.  It was amazing, hard, fun, exciting, joyful, heartbreaking, full of love.

I learned so much in the past year, so much to be thankful for.  I’ve grown as a person.  I’ve grown closer to God. I am a different person than the person who began 2013 and I’m so thankful for that.  I’m thankful for the changes God has made in my life.  I’m thankful for the people He’s brought into my life.  I’m thankful for being more adaptable to change than I ever was before.

So, this past year, I’ve seen so many children come and go.  I’ve had 14 different roommates and 8 other people who lived in my house when the team from my church came.  I’ve seen 4 teams – one was from my church!

It’s been quite the year and I feel like I finished it right.  New Years Eve, some friends and I went up to Lancers Gap to watch the sunset and pray over Maseru.  We missed most of the sunset, but it was beautiful to sit up there and eat dinner.  A friend brought out his guitar and we worshipped on top of the mountain overlooking the city.  Such a great reminder of why we are here.  We are here to be the hands and feet of Christ to this city, this country, this world.

Later that night we went over to the guys’ house and played a game until midnight.  At midnight we set off fireworks.  And since they live on a hill overlooking part of the city, we saw others all over the city setting off fireworks, mostly roman candles.  But we did see real fireworks over the convention center.  Everyone was celebrating the new year, all over the city, celebrating the new year God has given us.

So I want to give this year to God, to do with me and have me do whatever He wants.  And one thing I want to do is pray for Lesotho.  Will you join me in praying for Lesotho?  This country needs to be covered in prayer.

Will you join me in committing this year to God?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

