Family

Looking out my office window, I sometimes see things that make me smile or laugh and sometimes I see things that make me cry.  And sometimes I get to see both in one day.

Yesterday morning I looked out to see a lot of kids matching in bright pink swimsuits with white polka dots and green trim.  The suit was the shape of a wetsuit.  I just had to smile at the picture.  Soon the Bo’Me got out the baby swimming pools and the kids were playing in the water and having so much fun.

Then in the afternoon I looked out to see two kids walking across the small bridge.  These two are brother and sister and will be meeting their forever family soon.  The older brother was holding his little sister’s hand to make sure she made it safely across the bridge.  He was taking small, careful steps to make sure she could keep up.  I started to tear up as I remembered their story.  This little boy, a five year old boy, was the caretaker for his sister before they came here.  He was the head of an orphan lead home.

So many homes here in Lesotho are headed by orphans who care for their younger siblings.  Sometimes the orphans are teenagers, but sometimes they are much younger.  Fortunately these two were able to be brought to Beautiful Gate so the older brother could have his childhood back.  And now they get to have a family who will love them and care for them.  It’s such an amazing thing.

And now as I watch the kids walk home from playgroup I just wish for a family for each of our children.  Please join me in praying for each child to have a family.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

