Letting Go and Trusting

Last month brought an emotional time for Beautiful Gate.  Four children over the age of five were transferred to another care center in town.  This care center is run by Beautiful Dream Society (BDS), an anti-human trafficking organization.  The founder of BDS felt led to open a care facility for children to grow up in.  The idea is for the children to form a family and to grow up together and stay in the country to be future Christian leaders in Lesotho.

So, these four children joined four other children from other care centers to form a family.  They have a couple housemothers.  The main housemother the kids call “Mommy.”

When a child comes to Beautiful Gate, we hope for a family for the child.  We hope for reunification with their biological family or adoption to an adoptive family so they can grow up with a Mom and a Dad.  This is what we hope and pray for each child who comes to Beautiful Gate.  We know a care center is not the best place for them and we hope for the best of them.

But sometimes God has other plans.  He knows what is best for each of His children.  This has been a hard time of letting go and trusting God with these children and all the children of Beautiful Gate.  This placement in another care facility is not what I imagined for these children.  It is not what I hoped for, what I dreamed for them.

Now, please understand, I know these children will be well cared for and loved at this new facility.  I know the people who run it, they are my friends.  I know the founder and I go to the church that is sponsoring it here in Maseru.  This just wasn’t what I had wanted.

But what I want shouldn’t matter.  It’s what God wants that is most important.  Many times throughout this process He has told me to trust Him with these children.  To believe He knows what is best.  To hope in His plan for these children.

This is becoming easier as I see how happy the kids are when I see them at church.  When I see the interaction with their “Mommy” I know they love her and she loves them.  When I see huge smiles and the interactions with their new siblings, I know they have found a home.  Not just a place to take care of them, but a home.

So, while it is still hard and it is not what I envisioned, I am learning to let go and trust that God’s plan is what is best for these beautiful children.  I miss them and love them very much.

But I know God loves them even more.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  ~ Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

