A Name

A song that often goes through my mind is “There is Power in the Name of Jesus.”  It is so true.  The next line is “to break every chain.”  So often that is my prayer for Lesotho, that Jesus will break all the chains binding the people here.

Have you ever truly thought about the power in a name?

When a child is first learning to talk, parents always want them to say “Dada” or “Mama.”  They want the child to know who they are.  They want the child to understand the importance of them in the child’s life.

That importance comes from a name.

Here at Beautiful Gate I am known as Ausi Mpho.  That is my Sesotho name given to me by a couple staff members.  Ausi is the Sesotho version of Miss and Mpho means gift.  I love my Sesotho name and it means so much to me.  (Don’t worry I love my real name too.)

Sometimes as I’m walking past a house or playgroup I hear chants of “Ausi Mpho, Ausi Mpho.”  I love it!  It warms my heart.

This morning a little girl at preschool, one of our kids, started saying my name and it made me smile.  They know who I am and they want me to pay attention to them.  They know I love them.

Often children will come to Beautiful Gate without a name.  Imagine that, they were not given a name by anyone.  Does this mean they are not important?  Does this mean they are not loved?

No.

That is why as soon as they come here they are given a name.  A name with true meaning behind it.  So many of the names here mean blessings, prayer, thankfulness, gift.  The Bo’Me giving names truly think about it wanting the child to realize they are important and loved.  They want them to realize they are important to God.

People knowing our name is so important to each of us.  Imagine how important it is for us to know the name of God?  To call out His name in trust and love?  To be so excited to spend time with Him that we cheer His name?

There is power in the name of Jesus if we use it.  Jesus said, “Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it.”  ~ John 14:13-14 (NASB)

Jesus wants to spend time with you and me today.  He wants us to call on His name and to trust.  He wants to show you how much He loves you.  Will you call on His name?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

