Comfortable

Recently it’s been pretty rainy here at Beautiful Gate.  We’ve had some flooding on campus and around town.  I can’t even imagine what it’s doing in the mountains where a couple weeks ago a rain storm caused for whole houses and livestock to be swept away.

I live here in Maseru on a beautiful campus.  I have a place to lay my head, running water and electricity.  I also have many friends and people I’d consider my Lesotho family.  I am blessed.

Yet I am melancholy.  I don’t know if it is the lack of sun (we get 300 days of sun here in Lesotho, so going 3-4 days, plus the rest of this week without it is definitely a change).  Or if it is something else.

I like what I do here at Beautiful Gate.  I like my job, the people I work with, the beautiful children we serve.  I am comfortable.

But does God call us to be comfortable?

A song we sang on ladies retreat keeps running through my head.

I could just sit
I could just sit and wait for all your goodness
Hope to feel your presence
And I could just stay
I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel you
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But you have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I will go where you will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I will go where you lead me Lord
Where you lead me
Where you lead me Lord

And I will be Yours
I will be Yours for all my life
So let Your mercy light the path before me

~  You Have Called Me Higher by All Sons and Daughters

It’s funny how a song can speak to me.  It can be so convicting.  This song reminds me that God has not called me to be comfortable, but to go higher and deeper.

I’m currently reading through Deuteronomy and have read the other four books of the Pentateuch since January 1.  When the Israelites came out of Egypt, every time it got even a little uncomfortable, they complained.  They wanted to return to the known, to Egypt.  Even though they were slaves in Egypt, they wanted to go back.  They were comfortable.

But God had other plans.  He had an amazing plan for them.  A plan to give them land, a beautiful land where they would prosper and multiply.  He wanted to build a nation.

Yet they continued to turn away.  They continued to complain or worship idols.  They wanted to be comfortable.

How often do we do the same?  How often do we want to be comfortable?

Does God call us to be comfortable?

No, He calls us to go where He leads us.  He calls us to go to all the nations with the Gospel.  He calls us to love and serve widows and orphans.  He calls us to love and serve not just those we love, but also our enemies.

Does He call us to be comfortable?

Francis Chan wrote in Crazy Love, “But God doesn’t call us to be comfortable.  He calls us to trust Him so completely that we are unafraid to put ourselves in situations where we will be in trouble if He doesn’t come through.”

God never told us it would be easy to follow Him.  He never said we wouldn’t have rough times.

When the apostles were called, they dropped everything, and I do mean everything, to go and serve Christ.  Luke 5 tells of Simon Peter and the sons of Zebedee dropping everything, their nets, their newly caught fish, their boats, and following Christ.

Was that comfortable?  Probably not.  Was it the right thing to do?  YES!

Was it comfortable for Esther to go in front of her husband, the king, when she wasn’t sent for, risking death?  No.  Was it in God’s plan?  Yes.  Did He provide for her?  Yes.

So, are we called to be comfortable?  No.

Are we called to follow Christ and trust He will get us through all the uncomfortableness?  Yes.

So, right now I am comfortable, yet I know God is calling me to something more.  He has a plan for my next step and even though He hasn’t revealed it to me yet, I know He will get me through it.  The funny thing is, I also know if I stayed where I am against God’s will, it probably wouldn’t be nearly as comfortable.

Pray God will give you (and me) the strength to take the next step out of our comfort zone and into His will.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Comfortable

  1. lynnirenesa

    Kristen, I absolutely love what you have written here. You have put into words the thoughts I have been having for the last year myself. Thank you for sharing this, I really needed to hear it today!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

