Love and Blessings

Some days I am amazed at how blessed I am.  As I often get so involved in my work in the office, I sometimes forget my real reason for being here.  To love these beautiful children as Christ loves each of us.  Then a child walks up to me after chapel and all he wants is a hug.  He just wants to be held.  I pick him up and give him a hug and ask if he wants to go to playgroup.  He shakes his head no.  I ask if he wants to be put down and again he shakes his head no, so I hold on to him and take him outside where we sit down for a while.  I just sit their holding him.  Eventually he gets interested in the coloring going on around him and he wants to get down.  But for awhile all he wanted was to be loved and held.

Wow, that’s my job?  That is what I’m called to do?  To love and hold children?  That’s not my only job, I do a lot of work in the office, but sometimes it’s nice to get out of the office and spend time with the real reason I am here, the children.  The people God has called me to.

Last Friday we had an adoption ceremony for a sibling set going to Canada.  These two children arrived after I got here, so I’ve been here their whole time.  I’ve seen them grow and bond with the kids and housemothers around them.  I’ve seen them happy and I’ve seen them sad.  The older boy was old enough to go to school, but unfortunately he arrived too late for school last year and fortunately he was being adopted this year so he was kept home from school since he’d only be there for a couple weeks.  He was the oldest in playgroup by far and he stood out in morning playgroup.  One of our volunteers, Terp, would often bring him to her office to color, since he couldn’t go to school.  This child has an amazing smile and a wonderful laugh.  I’m so blessed to have had the privilege of knowing him and his little sister.  They have such joy!

It is a privilege to be here, to be able to spend time with these wonderful children.  To have them open their hearts to you and to have your heart broken for them.  I love each and every one of them and it is my prayer that they will all one day have a family.  May God richly bless each and every one of them.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

