Choice

Sometimes God take you through a time where He is trying to teach you something.  Sometimes this is through an experience and sometimes through a process that feels a lot more like pruning.  He is trying to teach you through removing things from your life that are not of Him.

For me recently, this has been unforgiveness.  There are people the Lord has wanted me to forgive for things that have happened long ago in my past.  Things that I didn’t even know were an issue until recently.  But they were an issue.  They were affecting me.  Were they affecting the people I hadn’t forgiven?

No.

See, that’s the thing with not forgiving someone, it is only really hurting you.  The person who you haven’t forgiven may not even know there is an issue.  Unforgiveness takes a bitter root deep in your soul.  It makes you have a bitter view of those around you and especially the people in the situation.  And unforgiveness affects your relationship with God.

Jesus said, “And when you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”  ~ Mark 11:25 (ESV)

So, God has asked me to forgive and I have chosen to forgive.  By forgiving the person I’ve held bitter feelings toward for many years, I felt a release.  Do those feelings always stay away?  No, I have to make a decision that I have forgiven that person.  It is a choice.  A choice that gets easier each time I make that choice.  Each time I choose to trust in God’s forgiveness.

Through forgiving this one person, I realized the problem went even deeper as their was another person involved.  A person who made a decision which affected my entire life.  A person that I’d never blamed in the past, but that person made a choice, a choice that was not me.

This choice was beginning to take route in my soul, pushing other things out.  Making me feel like I was not chosen, not wanted.

But this is not of God.

God wanted to heal me of this and yesterday He did.

Yesterday God showed me through an email I was writing asking for prayer in this situation that I have a Father God who made a choice two thousand years ago to send His Son (Jesus) to die for my sins so I could be His daughter.  He made a choice so I could be closer to Him.  He chose me.  He loves me.  He’s called me.

I can’t even describe to you how amazing this makes me feel.  In my head I’ve known this for a long time, but yesterday, it hit my heart and made my heart soar!  I just wanted to shout it from the rooftops!  I am God’s daughter!  He has chosen me!  He wants me!  He loves me!

So, friends, my prayer for you is that He will reveal this to you, if He hasn’t already.  That He will show you how much He loves and adores you.   He made a choice two thousand years ago to send His Son (Jesus) to die for your sins so you could be His son or daughter.  He made a choice so you could be closer to Him.  Trust in that.  Trust in His love.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

