Soup Kitchen

Last week we had a team here from Mississippi and on Wednesday we took  them to visit Baylor Clinic, the hospital, to go souvenir shopping, and to church.  But this post isn’t about that.

After visiting the Clinic and hospital we headed to park at the church and walk to souvenir shopping.  I found out the team needed a few groceries so I walked to the grocery store and back.

As I was waiting at the church for the team to come back, I saw some kids come out with plates of food.  And it hit me.  Anita had been talking about a soup kitchen at her church.  She had actually cooked for it this week and I had been envisioning adults.

This soup kitchen was for children. Children living on the streets or who are coming from poor families.  This soup kitchen allows them to have a good meal once a week.  It makes sure they are fed at least once a week.

It just hit me, it’s the children that have been affected so hard by AIDS, by poverty.  I see it everyday with the children here at Beautiful Gate, but not all the kids are blessed with a place like Beautiful Gate.  Not all kids are in a care facility.  Not all kids have a home, a place to lay their head at night.

Not all kids are fed.  Not all kids are loved.

This is an amazing ministry put on by Maseru United Church (one of the two English speaking churches in Lesotho, I attend Victory).  I am so grateful that people like Anita have volunteered to help feed people who may not be fed otherwise.

Please join me in praying for this ministry and other ministries like this one.  They are needed.  Please pray for homes for children.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’”

~ Matthew 25:34-40 (NIV)

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

