Happy Birthday to Me!

This year I had an amazingly blessed birthday a couple weeks ago.  I felt so loved and cared for.  And I wasn’t expecting any of it.  I figured my birthday was going to be a low key day, no biggie and that wasn’t an issue, but God moved people to bless me throughout the day and the week.

My birthday celebrations began on Tuesday (my birthday was actually on Thursday), when Kim took me out to dinner to Mimmos, yummy!  We sat there and talked for a couple hours before I had to leave since I had a very early wake up call the next morning.

Wednesday was spent taking our nurse to Bloem so a child could see the doctor there.  It was a long, tiring day, but fortunately we got back before 4, so it wasn’t as long as it could have been.

On Thursday, my actual birthday, I woke up and headed into work.  On the counter was a sweet card from my roommates.  Later in the morning, I went to Bible Study.  I hadn’t really told anyone it was my birthday, but someone saw it on Facebook and Barb made me a yummy cake with candles and everything.

SAM_4589

Of course Barb is the one taking the picture so these are some other ladies from my Bible Study.

I got home from Bible Study and went to grab some lunch and I saw that my roommates had been busy.  They made brownies and cupcakes, so yummy!

SAM_4592

And then later that night, Shelley had invited me and my roommates over for dinner. She made a yummy dinner of chicken, mashed potatoes and veggies.  I love mashed potatoes!!!  And she also made a cake.

SAM_4654

The next day Terp and the Geurinks came back.  And we had planned to have dinner together that night.  Anita had injured her foot while away, so we got pizza from Romans.  And Bryan made me a cake.  I didn’t get a picture of that one, oops.

I also got flowers from friends in the US.  How they figured out how to get flowers delivered in Lesotho, I have no idea.

Image

On Saturday, I went out for lunch with Margie, Kerrina and Phase to Cafe 72.  Yummy!

SAM_4656

I received multiple things from back home.  My Mom sent me a card, a ten pound note since she knows I’m going to London in October, and an Amazon gift card.  My sister sent me a package as well (which I haven’t yet received, but I’m looking forward to it!).  And a group of friends back in the US sent me a wonderful package.  Inside was all the makings of a birthday party, including a funfetti cake which we ate last week.  It included a photo book they put together from a bunch of my friends from college including pictures from the past year showing me what I’ve missed as I’ve been away, catching me up a bit.  They also sent a thumb drive with videos from a couple of them including one from my Godson, Seth.  It was so great to see my friends and get such sweet messages from them on my birthday even though they couldn’t be with me.

I feel so blessed and loved by so many people around the world.  And this doesn’t even include all the sweet messages I received on Facebook.  I’m so thankful for the people in my life.  Thank you!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Thato Moeketse

    wow… see many more joys!

  2. Bob Baker

    A belated Happy Birthday Kristen! Looks like you were blessed!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

