Where is your voice?

Yesterday I woke up and I couldn’t talk, just whisper.  I’ve had a cold recently and now my voice is pretty much gone.  As I drink tea throughout the day, I get something of a voice, but it is still not that great.  So, yesterday, I was walking home to get another cup of tea and a couple of kids asked me “where is your voice?”  I wasn’t quite sure how to answer this.  I said it is gone, but they didn’t understand.

Sometimes we, as God’s children, wonder where is voice is.  I’m currently reading the Old Testament, the Pentateuch and God spoke through Moses.  He showed His presence by being the cloud that leads them by day the fire that protects them by night.  He was present and quite obvious.  Yet they turned away.

Sometimes we get so caught up in our lives, we forget to listen for God’s voice.  We forget to notice Him around us.  We chalk His blessings up to coincidence, being lucky, or us doing something well.

I know at times in my life, I wonder, “God, where is your voice?”  Sometimes it seems like God is silent in the midst of something hard in our lives.  Yet, He isn’t silent, He could be shouting to me or you but we aren’t listening.  Or He could be quiet, working in our lives, but we refuse to acknowledge Him.

He doesn’t always come in something big, with a booming “god-voice.”  He doesn’t always come in a big manner.

And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”  ~ 1 Kings 19:11-12

God spoke to Elijah in a still small voice.

How does God speak to us today?  In many different ways.  Some He will speak to in dreams, others, a voice, others through people around them.  Still others, through reading the Word of God, always through the Word. God speaks to us always.  He sent His Holy Spirit to live in us and direct us in the way we should go.

So, whenever we ask “where is your voice?”  We must take time to listen and to read His Word.  Because even if you don’t hear God in anything else, you can always hear Him through His Word.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

