Traction

Recently I’ve really been a klutz. I’ve fallen 4 times in the past 2 months. Three of them were going down hill and one was falling off a chair. Currently sporting the bruises from the chair one. Looking at my shoes, you might realize part of the issue is the lack of traction.

But I’ve been thinking, what is God trying to teach me through this?

How many times are you sailing through life without traction and you suddenly find yourself falling?

I know this has occurred to me many times. And I find, yet again, I need to get my footing in the Word, in God.

Often we fall short of what we expect or what others expect of us. We are disappointed. We are hurt. And we don’t know where to look. I know I often look for something to distract me from the hurt or disappointment, whether it is a movie or a book or just getting out. But really I should turn to the only one who can bring true comfort and guidance.

I remember a couple years ago I applied for a doctoral program hoping to get my doctorate in government and go on and teach college. I did not get in where I applied and instead of turning to prayer, I watched a movie. I had thought my future involved academia and I was wrong. That was in 2009. That was a hard year and not because of this, but for so many other reasons involving family members being ill.

It wasn’t for three years that I learned why I didn’t get into that program. It wasn’t until 2012 that I was called to Africa and moved to Lesotho.

Gaining traction in our lives is hard. We could be doing all the “right” things but if we aren’t putting our heart into it, aren’t putting God first, our footing still isn’t right. So many times recently, I’ve been thinking I’m doing it right, but my heart hasn’t been in it. I’m reading the Bible, but not always wanting to. I’m praying, but am I listening, asking God what He wants me to do, what He wants to show me in my daily Bible reading?

It’s hard to get traction, to get the right footing, but I know God is there with a plan. And He is my traction.

“Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.  I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.”…You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”  ~ Psalm 16:1-2, 11

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Traction

  1. Debbie Bonner

    Hi. I love getting your messages from Africa. I have read all since you have been posting. But today reading about Traction I Felt a real understanding. I can say that whenever lfe has me in a whirle wind I ALWAYS find peace in Gods word from the Bible. I just open and read. Always amazing how the right words are given. So just wanted to share. You take care AND GET SOME NEW SHOES! 🙂 LV Debbie

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

