A Time Away

About a week and a half ago I went to Cape Town to visit my friend, Megs.  I met her back home in Virginia when she was au pairing for a family in Alexandria and going to FBCA like I was.  I met her right after being called to Africa and she, among many others, was a confirmation of God’s calling in my life.  She’s South African and was one of many people God put in my life who had a connection to Africa.  She also came to Lesotho last November with the team from FBCA.

Anyway, I went for a long weekend (Wednesday-Monday) to visit her and get away.  It was a lot of fun to talk with her and hang out.  The weather wasn’t the greatest as it is winter there, but it was warmer than Lesotho so always a plus.  But the company was fantastic.  We had some fun talks and I got to meet a lot of her friends.

We went to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront to check out the craft market and I got to enjoy some yummy thai food, something I can’t get in Lesotho.  I also got a smoothie, another thing I have yet to find in Lesotho (well, there is one place, but they use the tap water which isn’t good).

From there we drove the long way home so I could see the ocean!  Lesotho is a land-locked country and I’ve missed water.  Seeing the Atlantic Ocean was wonderful!  And it was a bit stormy so the waves were fantastic!

ocean

ocean2

ocean3

ocean4

ocean5

ocean6That night we went to a live recording of her church’s worship band.  The songs they recorded were all written by someone in the band.  They were beautiful songs.

The next day we went chocolate, cheese, and wine tasting.  We got to taste chocolate from 6 different areas of the world and I was surprised at how different they all tasted.  This was at Spice Route, where we also had a yummy lunch.

I enjoyed trying all the different cheeses at Fairview.  Ended up buying a few to bring back.  Megs, her friend Nikki, and I as we are purchasing our goods.

cheese

 

Megs and I at Fairview.fairviewThe next day we joined a bunch of her friends at Clay Cafe and painted pottery.  I painted a mug and a small plate.

clay

Yes friends, I did draw Africa on my mug.  I used the Africa on my shirt and made my own stencil.  I think it turned out okay.clay2I also chose a verse to put on the back.

Let us hold tightly to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep His promise.”  ~ Hebrews 10:23

This verse really hit home.  God told me to come to Africa promising He would get me through it and He has.  He is trustworthy and worthy to be praised!  Looking forward to seeing my finished mug and having that keepsake.

On Sunday we went to Hout Bay Market and enjoyed some yummy fish and chips and then went to church that night.  I really enjoy Megs’s church, very good preaching and worship.

Monday morning bright and early I said farewell to Megs and her Mom.  I thoroughly enjoyed my time visiting.  It was refreshing to get away for a bit.  And now I am back with a little over two months left ready to finish strong.

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

