Anxieties

I go home soon.

The realities of this statement are starting to hit.  And anxiety is starting to increase on multiple fronts.  I leave Lesotho three weeks from tomorrow and there are a few projects I want to finish before I leave.  I also want to make sure I get lots of pictures of and with the kids before I leave.

My health insurance ends at the end of September.  I can’t extend my current plan because I will be in the states, so I need to figure out new health insurance over the next two weeks, so I don’t lapse.

So many things that I need to do keep running across my mind, yet I just want to hug a kid or spend time with people here.  But these things do need to get done.  I need to set up car insurance for when I get home so I can at least be an insured driver.  I’d also like to have a phone when I get there, so trying to figure out the pay as you go plans so I don’t have to get roped into a long contract since my plan is to come back to Africa.  I’ve asked my sister and brother-in-law to look into cars for me so I’ll have transportation.  I plan to buy a used car when I get home for driving back and forth between MD and FL (where my Mom now lives).

I’ll be moving to FL when I get back, staying with my Mom, setting that up as my home base for when I’m in the states.  So, with that comes looking for a church and a job in that area or online.  I’d love to be able to travel around and see people, to have that freedom in my job, but I don’t know if that will work.  Does anyone know of a job where I can work online?  That way I could work from anywhere in the world?

I’m also anxious about actually being back in the states.  I’ve been living here in Lesotho for 2 years.  It is a completely different culture and life here.  Just the thought of going into a Walmart overwhelms me.  I can imagine my first grocery shopping trip.  The variety of things available in the states could make me just want to leave.  When I was in Cape Town I went to a grocery store and there were other flavors of ice cream than what we have in Lesotho.  I kept looking at it and looking at it trying to choose one, I ended up deciding I didn’t need ice cream.  By the way, they only had one freezer with ice cream in it, not a whole aisle like back home.

And what will it be like being with my friends who I haven’t seen in two years?  I’ve changed, they’ve changed, will we still share interests?

And so many friends and family members have had children in the past two years, I will have a ton of kids to meet.  Good thing I like kids.  🙂

So, friends, I’m asking for prayer.  Pray all these issues will be sorted and I can just enjoy my last couple weeks here.  Pray for the removal of my anxieties and for peace about going home.  Pray for me (and my friends who are also leaving within the next couple weeks).

And please continue praying for Lesotho and the political unrest here.  Thank you!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Anxieties

  1. Thato Moeketse

    for a while i was in denial about the fact that you are indeed leaving soon. i realize today that in 3 weeks you will indeed be going. I’m tempted to say my goodbye already and skip your farewell ceremony as that will be one of the hardest. i can only imagine what you are talking about but can never fully understand until i have been to both parts of the world, as for all my 25 years i have lived rite here . God will equip you with all you need to make a smooth transition. i am going to miss you Kristen. me and a whole lot of other people. i hope we go out soon even if for just ice cream just to make memories. you are truly an amazing person and we love you. LESOTHO LOVES YOU AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, GO LOVES YOU SO MUCH HE HAD TO SHARE YOU WITH US FOR THE WHOLE 2 YEARS. NEVER FORGET THAT!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

