Culture Shock

I’ve seen many people go through culture shock as they get used to living here.  What I’ve never realized before is you go through culture shock when you are about to leave.  Things that never used to bother you start to bother you.  You become extremely sensitive to everything around you and take offense so easily just like you do when you are going though culture shock when you first arrive or at least I did.

It’s a hard place to be in right now.  Everything I say seems to come out wrong or I just say the wrong things entirely.  I don’t mean to do it.  And I’m not sure how to fix it other than to ask for forgiveness from those I’ve hurt with offhanded comments and hopefully move on trying to not say them in the future.

Now that I realize it is happening and what is happening hopefully I can change it.  With two weeks and two days left, I want to be able to have a positive finish with all those around me.  I want to be able to enjoy my time and have everyone else enjoy their time as well.

I spent some time in prayer last night asking God for help and for peace.  I also asked for a good night’s sleep as I haven’t been sleeping the best.  Last night I did sleep pretty well even though I woke up at 3:30 for a short time (seems to be a common time for me to wake up).

So friends I ask for prayer.  Please pray for me, pray for my emotions and this culture shock I seem to be going through right now.  I don’t even know for sure if it is culture shock, but it is something.  Please pray for those around me, pray for all the new volunteers who are going through culture shock themselves.  Pray for open hearts and forgiveness.  Thank you.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”  ~ Proverbs 3:5-6

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understand, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  ~ Philippians 4:6-7

“I can do all things through him who gives me strength.”  ~ Philippians 4:13

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Culture Shock

  1. catschwartz

    Unknowns, transitions, things “up in the air” all are difficult. Sending prayers.

  2. You have been and always will be in my prayers. I can’t imagine what leaving Africa must be like for you. I’m always here to talk through email.
    In Christ,
    Amber

  3. Praying you find peace in the knowledge of a God who never changes, even when everything around you does. Much love (:

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

