Port Shepstone

About two weeks before I left, the Geurinks took me away with them to visit some friends down in Port Shepstone, South Africa.  With all the craziness between the coup attempt and trying to finish things up before leaving, it was great to get away, to take some time away from campus and process what was coming.

Along the way, we met up with Lisa, a friend from Lesotho who had just moved to South Africa.  It was good to see her and catch up a bit before leaving.

Then, we got to Port Shepstone, which is right on the Indian Ocean.  And it was beautiful.  Both full days we were there, we went to the beach.  It was so nice to sit on the beach and read a book.  Or go play in the water with the kids.

While at the beach I got most of the way through the book Re-Entry.  It’s a book lent to me by a friend to help me understand a lot of the emotions and things I might go through when going home.  One thing it had me go through was changes in me and changes back home. Going through this made me really think about the changes back home, such as my Mom moving to Florida or many of my friends who have moved to other states.  A lot of my friends and family have had children and a member of my family passed away.  My sister’s house was remodeled.  And so many other things.

Processing through that and thinking about how I’ve changed made me really think about what it will be like to go home.  I was thinking it may not be easy, but God will get me through

“I will not, I will not, I will not in any degree leave you helpless, nor forsake nor let you down, relax My hold on you. — Assuredly not!”  ~ Hebrews 13:5, Amp

In addition to hanging out at the beach, we played in the pool and watched Duck Dynasty.  It was a lot of fun to catch up with the Danforths before heading home.

And I got to see the beautiful Indian Ocean one more time!

SAM_5430 (502x375)

SAM_5433 (502x377)

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

