I miss…

I scroll through facebook or read a friend’s blog and it hits me, how much I miss my kids.  Two graduated from preschool a couple weeks ago and I wasn’t there to join in the celebration.  Many have been adopted and I haven’t met their new families.

Yet there are other times where I just don’t think about them, which also makes me sad.  Beautiful Gate posted a bunch of pictures of kids’ smiles the other day and I only recognized a couple of the smiles in the pictures even though I probably know most of the kids.  Have I already forgotten?  How can I?

I got a new computer yesterday and I was changing the desktop background to a picture I like.  I decided to do a slide show of my kids, so it could flip through them as a background.  And looking at some of the pictures, I realized I’ve forgotten a few names from earlier in my time at BG and some of the babies’ names from more recently.  I never want to forget.

But even so, looking into the eyes of a little boy who I love, my heart breaks.  This child has been reunified with his family since I left BG.  I will probably never see him again.  I’ll never get to hear him say “Ausi Mpho” again.  I will never get to pick him up and put him in my lap and just give him a big hug again.

Seeing the smile of a little boy who always makes me smile brings joy to my heart even though I miss him so much.  Remembering the story of a little girl telling me about the family she will be joining soon, one that she has waited so many years for, brings me such happiness.  When I see her picture I remember how she always tested me and gave me attitude for the first year I was at BG.  Then suddenly, like a switch, she trusted me (what an amazing thing to receive a child’s trust).  I guess she wanted to make sure I could be trusted.  Did she always listen?  No.  But what child does?  Hopefully her family will be able to bring her home before Christmas.

I wonder if that trust is gone now?  These kids trusted me.  They knew I loved them so much.  Yet now I’m not there.  I left them.  I wonder how they feel about that?  Do they think I don’t love them?  Do they think I abandoned them like maybe a family member did to them in the past?  I sure hope not.  I hope they remember and know how much I love them.

I often get asked how I’m doing now that I’m home or “aren’t you happy to be home?”  And the answer is always hard.  Am I happy to be home?  Sometimes.  I’m happy to see family and friends.  But I miss Lesotho.  I miss my friends there.  I miss my kids.  And how am I doing?  Mostly well, but I do have moments where something hits me.  Where my heart breaks because I can’t hug a little child who has claimed my heart.  And in those moments I wonder what am I doing?  Yet I thank God that He brought me to BG and showed me His love for the fatherless.

DSC_0181

DSCN1802

blog

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

