A Different Kind of Family

Almost a year ago Beautiful Dream Society opened a long-term care center in Lesotho.  Four children from Beautiful Gate were transferred to this new facility and we held a ceremony the day they left.  It was one of the most heartbreaking ceremonies I attended while in Lesotho, because these children weren’t going to families, but to another facility.  They were being adopted into a system that is like a family, with a housemother, but it still not a family, at least not what we think of as a family.

Beautiful Dream Society and the church I attended in Lesotho, Victory Church, teamed up to open up the care center, as they are both under the same umbrella – a church in Oklahoma.  Every Sunday the housemothers at the care center brought the children to church and I got to see them many times throughout the year, whenever I attended the same service they did.  It was so great to see them and give them hugs.

About a week before I left, I had dinner at their house.  I wanted to say goodbye to the kids and tell them I love them.  And it was so amazing to be in their house with them and see how they live.  They are so happy in their new family and it is a family.  It’s not a family as we had dreamed for these kids, but they are a family.  The 12 kids in the care center are brothers and sisters.  They have a mom and aunties and uncles.  They are well loved.

SAM_5439

This is me with all the kids and their housemother.  Love these kids!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

