A Little Blessing

Recently a child met her family for the first time.  Ever since I found out she was matched, I’ve been so excited for this day.  I teared up when it was even a possibility, because this little girl just wants to be loved and to have a family to call her own.

When I first came to Beautiful Gate this girl was very standoffish towards me.  She wouldn’t listen to me and didn’t seem to want to have anything to do with me.  She didn’t trust me.

About a year later, something changed.  I remember when it happened.  I was carrying my trash to the dumpster and she offered to help me.  She walked with me to the dumpster and suddenly I was okay in her book.  I could be trusted to be there.

I remember one night after the younger kids had gone to bed, she was on the front porch with her housemother and another older child in the house.  They were laughing and I went outside to join them.  We played some games, like jumping on each other’s shadows or dancing.  It was so much fun.  She has a beautiful smile and laugh.

A couple days before I left BG, she came up to me and sat on my lap.  She said “Ausi Mpho, I have a family.”  She went on to tell me all about her family, telling me she has a mom and an auntie and an uncle.  She told me they are coming soon.  I asked when and she said around Christmas time.  She was so beyond excited about having a family.  She’s seen so many kids come and go during her time at BG.

She’s also seen so many volunteers and staff members come and go.

And now she has a forever family.  A family she gets to go home with and spend the rest of her life with.  My heart is so happy for her right now I feel like it could burst.  I’m so excited for her and I pray the transition goes well for her.

I am so blessed to have known this little girl and to have earned her trust.  Her new family is receiving a little blessing.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

