Pictures from Songs

As I’m sure long time readers have noticed, songs often speak to me.  Recently, I put together a presentation for my life group about my time at Beautiful Gate.  It was a simple presentation with pictures of the kids.  And I wanted to use a song I’d heard in one of the presentations Terp put together for Beautiful Gate called Kings and Queens by Audio Adrenaline.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my time at Beautiful Gate and all the wonderful children I met.  This song really speaks to that time.  I can put images to the lyrics.

Little hands,

P1290085 2-001

So many hands come to mind, but the one that stands out are reaching up to me.  This little boy was the first to come running up to me for a hug.  He was a smiler and a dancer.  Such a sweet little boy

shoeless feet

SAM_1294-001

The kids would often run around, especially in the summer months, with no shoes on.  They would walk to playgroup with shoes on, but would take them off at some point during playgroup.  I remember a little boy just learning to walk.  I held his hands and helped him walk down the sidewalk.

Lonely eyes looking back at me

SAM_5108-001

One little girl arrived at Beautiful Gate right after her mother passed away.  You could tell she was well-loved before coming to BG.  She looked so lost.  She didn’t understand what had happened.

Will we leave behind the innocent to grieve?

She would often cry, wanting to be held, missing her Mom.

On their own, on the run

Last year around Easter, we received three siblings at BG.  Their parents passed away and their community was helping them, but mostly the oldest was caring for his younger siblings.

When their lives have only begun

SAM_5087

He (not pictured) was only six or seven.

These could be our daughters and our sons

Children all over the world have lost parents at a young age.  They are cared for by relatives or adopted into family or fostered.  Are you willing to open your home and your heart?

And just like a drum I can hear their hearts beating
I know my God won’t let them be defeated
Every child has a dream to belong and be loved

A little girl just wants to be held.  A boy just wants a hug.  A baby just wants to be fed.  A child just wants a family to call his own.

DSC_0029-001

(Chorus)
Boys become kings, girls will be queens
Wrapped in Your majesty
When we love, when we love the least of these

DSC_0001
Then they will be brave and free
Shout Your name in victory
When we love, when we love the least of these

DSC_0008
When we love the least of these

Break our hearts once again
Help us to remember when
We were only children hoping for a friend

SAM_2126
Won’t you look around
These are the lives that the world has forgotten
Waiting for doors of our hearts and our homes to open

Chorus

If not us, who will be like Jesus
To the least of these
If not us tell me who will be like Jesus
Like Jesus to the least of these

DSC_0416

Boys become kings, girls will be queens
Wrapped in your majesty
When we love, when we love the least of these

DSC_0523

This picture was taken on Easter Sunday last year, when the children had an Easter egg hunt after hearing the Easter story.

Then they will be brave and free shout your name in victory
We will love we will love the least of these

SAM_5026
We will love the least of these (Repeat) 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Pictures from Songs

  1. Thato Moeketse

    wow…. beautiful, encouraging and inspiring

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lesotho Times

...to teach all nations

My Walk in Obedience

striving for obedience

My Walk in Obedience

An African Adventure...

My Walk in Obedience

Our Beautiful Mission

My Walk in Obedience

Beautiful::Africa

Loving the Fatherless is Beautiful

